Treasurer Magaziner Hosts 8th Annual Young Leader Awards Ceremony 

Published on Monday, May 09, 2022

2022 Young Leader Award presented to 66 Rhode Island high school juniors for outstanding academic and civic achievement 

General Treasurer Seth Magaziner tonight hosted a ceremony honoring 66 high school juniors from across Rhode Island with the General Treasurer's Young Leader Award. 

"The 2022 Young Leader Award winners have already made meaningful contributions to their communities both inside and outside the classroom," said General Treasurer Seth Magaziner. "I am inspired by all of the passionate honorees and excited to see how they will impact Rhode Island and the world in the future." 

The Young Leader Award is presented to high school juniors across the state who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in math, economics, finance, and business-related courses, and who are active in their community. Since 2015, Treasurer Magaziner has recognized over 400 Rhode Island students with this high achievement. 

The 2022 Young Leader Award recipients: 

Barrington Christian Academy – Peter Twitchell 

Barrington High School – William T. McClelland  

Beacon Charter School for the Arts – Madison Skeldon 

Bishop Hendricken High School – Jakob Daniel Bregenhoj 

Blackstone Academy Charter School – Leylanis Carias Flores 

Block Island School – Campbell Coviello 

Burrillville High School – Madeline R LaSata 

Central Falls Senior High School – Ajah Ramona Johnson 

Central High School – Dorca Urena Melo 

Charette High School – Symphony Idaliz Romero  

Chariho Regional High School – Thatiana L. So 

Classical High School – Lily Ann McGuinness 

Coventry High School – William Raymond Spearman 

Cranston Area Career Technical Center – Ava E. Boyle 

Cranston High School East – Peyton A. Ginolfi 

Cranston High School West – Alexis R. Rastella 

Cumberland High School – Susanna K. Henderson 

East Greenwich High School – Mia E. Schenenga 

East Providence High School – Dircey Angelo Sotomayor 

East Providence Area Career and Technical Center – Claire I. Martins  

E-Cubed Academy – Justin Mayorga 

Hope High School – Joel A. Twumasi-Ankrah 

Jacqueline M. Walsh School for the Performing and Visual Arts (Pawtucket) – Milton Purcell 

Johnston Senior High School – Ayomide Josephine Olagundoye 

La Salle Academy – Erin E. Hajian 

Lincoln Senior High School – Brady Thomas Mellen 

Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical Center – Teodor Janiga 

Middletown High School – John M. Wiest 

Moses Brown School – Ty Joseph Anderson  

Mount Pleasant High School – Nayeska Nicole Contreras 

Mount St. Charles Academy – Morgan Marcos  

Mt. Hope High School – Emma G. Serbst 

Narragansett High School – Veronica Sabatino 

NEL/CPS Construction Career Academy – Chase L. Iacono 

Newport Area Career and Technical Center – Christian J. Arment 

North Kingstown Senior High School – Andrew Ciarniello 

North Providence High School – Jamie Celona 

North Smithfield High School – William Sullivan 

Paul Cuffee School – Roxanne Garcia 

Pilgrim High School – Keira Marion Ramsden 

Ponaganset High School – Carlena M. Smith 

Portsmouth High School – Jason C Darminio 

Providence Career and Technical Academy – Yazmin Sievers Malave 

Rhode Island School for the Deaf – Hunter Fasteson 

RI Nurses Institute Middle College Charter High School – Abigail Pinkrah 

Rocky Hill School – Katie Kerachsky 

Rogers High School – Chase M. Arment  

School One – Caleb Goodman-Miller 

Scituate High School – Aria Kriticos 

Shea Senior High School – Ailani Alvarez 

Smithfield Senior High School – Ellorie Corcoran 

South Kingstown High School – Kathryn Barrus 

St. George's School – Shaylagh Mackenzie Pipe 

St. Raphael Academy – Aaron Baker  

The Prout School – Andrew Conforti 

Times Squared Academy – Urooj Nasir 

Tiverton High School – Ryan R. Poland  

Toll Gate High School – Svetlana Maria Stepanova 

Trinity Academy – Cristian Natareno 

Warwick Area Career and Technical Center – Aiden M. Clark 

West Warwick Senior High School – Brea E. Alves 

Westerly High School – Haley Arruda 

William E Tolman Senior High School – Yareli Sanchez Martin 

Wm. M. Davies Jr. Career-Technical High School – Faizah Y. Folarin 

Woonsocket Area Career and Technical Center – Demetrius James Smith 

Woonsocket High School – Alexandra Hay