Crime Victim Compensation Program Home About About the Office About The Treasurer Programs Employees' Retirement System of Rhode Island Unclaimed Property Crime Victim Compensation Program Debt Management CollegeBound Saver (529 Plan) R.I.'s ABLE - Savings Plans for People with Disabilities Financial Empowerment Rhode Island School Building Task Force BankLocal Real Estate Deposits Section 218 Agreements Investments Investment Information Center Ocean State Investment Pool Cash Management Reports 2019 Shareholder Engagement Open Government Public Records Request Data Portal RFPs Open Meetings Info Investor Relations Contact If you or a loved one has been a victim of violent crime in Rhode Island, the Crime Victims Compensation Program (CVCP) may be able to help. While no amount of money can erase the impact of a violent crime, the CVCP provides up to $25,000 in reimbursement to Rhode Islanders for expenses related to violent crime, including: Medical, dental, and counseling expenses Relocation expenses Funeral and related expenses Crime scene cleaning Loss of earnings; and other expenses. To be eligible to participate in Rhode Island’s CVCP, victims of violent crime must file a police report within 10 days of the alleged crime and file a claim with CVCP no later than three years after the crime. More information about the Program can be found in the “Frequently Asked Questions” section below, and on the "Rules and Regulations" page. Applications can be submitted online here (registration required) You can also print out an application, either in English or Spanish and fax it to 401-462-7694 or mail it to:Crime Victim Compensation Program Office of the Rhode Island General Treasurer 50 Service Ave Warwick, RI 02886 For more information about Rhode Island’s Crime Victims Compensation Program, please call (401) 462-7655 or, email us. Frequently Asked Questions Q: Who is eligible to apply for assistance from Rhode Island’s Crime Victim Compensation Program? A: Victims who suffer personal, physical or emotional injury in a violent crime in Rhode Island Dependents and immediate family members of homicide victims. Q: How does the process work? A: Victims must report the crime to law enforcement authorities within 10 days and apply for reimbursement of expenses within three years from the date of the crime. If the victim is under the age of 18 at the time of the crime the application period is extended. Victims must cooperate with reasonable requests of law enforcement authorities in their investigation and prosecution of the crime. Applicants cannot have contributed to the crime and must not have been convicted of a violent criminal felony in the five years to the crime. Q: What expenses are eligible for reimbursement? A: The CVCP can help with the following types of crime-related expenses, if not covered by insurance or other resources. Total reimbursement will not exceed $25,000. Medical, dental and counseling expenses Funeral and burial expenses Loss of earnings (victim only) Loss of support (dependents of homicide victim) Relocation expenses PROPERTY LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED Q: How is the in Rhode Island Crime Victims Compensation Program funded? A: Rhode Island’s CVCP is funded by court fees, grants and gifts and the Program is administered by the Office of the General Treasurer. It is NOT funded with taxpayer money. Q: How do I apply for reimbursement through the Rhode Island Crime Victims Compensation Program? A: Complete the application and return it to the Crime Victim Compensation Program. Please respond promptly to all requests for additional information or documentation. You may also request that your claim be reopened for future medical and mental health counseling expenses. IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO HIRE AN ATTORNEY TO FILE AN APPLICATION. Each April, the U.S. Justice Department observes a National Crime Victims' Rights Week, with the goal of highlighting the importance of early intervention and services for crime victims. Rhode Island's CVCP has received funds from the American Recovery & Reinvestment Act (ARRA). You can learn more about how ARRA grants were used in Rhode Island by visiting the Office of Economic Recovery & Reinvestment.