The State Investment Commission

The State Investment Commission (SIC) is established under Rhode Island General Law 35-10. 

The SIC oversees the assets of the pension system as well as non-pension related investments such as the General Fund. The SIC has a fiduciary duty to put first the interests of the members of the retirement system, and to pursue the best investment portfolio possible.

The SIC is a 10-member volunteer body, chaired by the General Treasurer. 

The SIC typically meets at 9am on the 4th Wednesday of every month. A listing of upcoming meetings, past meetings, filed minutes and copies for SIC meeting materials are available on the Open Meetings page.

Copies of SIC briefing materials and monthly reports are available via the Treasury Open Data Portal

State Investment Commission Members*

Hon. James Diossa, Chair

Ms. Sylvia Maxfield

Mr. J. Michael Costello

Ms. Karen Hammond

Mr. Thomas P. Fay

Mr. Frank J. Karpinski*

Ms. Karen Hazard

Mr. Al Cumplido

Mr. Paul L. Dion

Ms. Susan Chung

*non-voting member